The Fear of not doing enough.

full frame shot of text on wood

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Thanks to Social Media you hear a lot about “FOMO” (Fear Of Missing Out) at the moment. Social media has led a large number of people to believe that their lives will be less meaningful or fulfilled, if they don’t try the new diet, workout, restaurant or miss any social media post.

 

I don’t actually think this is a new phenomenon, its maybe just changed its appearance slightly. Maybe the acronym isn’t as snappy but I know in the world of sport and fitness “The fear of not doing enough” has haunted people for years. The weird thing is that its usually amongst those that are more than doing enough that suffer with this feeling the most.

 

  • “My times are down, maybe I should put in another training session?”

 

  • “I’m just not coping with the training; I must have lost fitness. Perhaps I need to get up earlier to make that session before work”

 

  • “I need to add “X” supplement to my diet or cut out “Y” in my diet, to increase my performance”

 

All of the above were things I said to myself at some stage during my sporting career, and I was probably not alone. You don’t have to be a competitive athlete to be saying these things. There are plenty of recreational fitness participants who take their training extremely seriously.

 

The answer to improving times, increasing energy and improving performance is usually very simple. Rest.

 

REST! (IN ANGRY CAPITALS)

We may think we are taking rest days, but we are actually doing “Recovery” sessions. These usually involve us trying to beast ourselves in an activity that we don’t usually do. We try to convince ourselves it will be fine because we are using a different energy system or muscle group. At the end of the day we still find ourselves in a sweaty heap on the floor …………but its ok as its “Different” sweat to usual!

man lying on rubber mat near barbell inside the gym

Just your average recovery session?

Maybe we have all watched the “Rocky” films too much. We all feel to beat our opponents or voices within we have to do more and show no weakness.

 

To be successful you need to put the work in but that’s not all you need to do.

 

Sometimes you may need to do things differently.

 

It’s a hard route to take at first, I get it you don’t want your club mates or training buddy to think you “Can’t cope” or that “You aren’t committed”. However, if you want to stay healthy and injury free you need to start taking your rest and recovery as seriously as your training.

 

Cut the “Junk” training that is just depleting your energy, making you more injury prone and probably holding you back from your goals.

 

If you are tired have a rest day, a proper one. Go for a walk not a hike!

 

Get an hour extra sleep instead of getting up an hour early to train.

 

Instead of restrictive diets improve the quality of the one you already have.

 

If something doesn’t add value to your training don’t do it.

 

Stay well.

Laura

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment